Stihl MS 391 reviews

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gaussnh

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I've been running Stihl's for 20+ years. Usually find used ones to buy but used prices are within $150- 200 of a new one and those that aren't are beat to death. Currently running a 290, 310 and an 041(only when I have to because it beats the hell out of me). I'm looking at a new 391 with a 20" bar because I'm tired of working on the old ones to keep them running. The 391 appears to be Chinese made, therefore I'm concerned about reliability. I saw good reviews on it, and some stinkers. I don't fell much anymore, but I do cut 30-40 cords of hardwood yearly. Any info would be appreciated.

A colleague of mine has had a tree service business for 45+ years and ms390’s are the 20” saws he has always used. I think he has had at least 4 by now. Don’t let this worry you though, they work VERY hard 6 days a week and he is not one to rebuild saws or do anything to them above general maintenance. Not as light as a ‘more pro’ ms362 but probably just as reliable and I think a fair bit cheaper. They won’t excite you I wouldn’t think but they are good solid workhorses. Having said this, I have no idea how the 391 lines up against the 390?

Surely there is an imitation 391 made in china but probably not for sale at a Stihl Dealer. The ms 391 is a tank, plenty of power for a medium saw. When you run one next to an ms 362 however the price difference becomes a non issue, particularly if this is to be a work saw ie it makes you money and is a tax writeoff.

I sold my 391 to a friend and he’s pretty happy with it. Not a bad saw I guess, it was reliable but I wasn’t bringing it to the job very often, was reaching for the 362 more often. Mine had slow sluggish throttle response and I like being able to access the air filter for cleaning without tools.