Stihl ms362 carb settings

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Xenosaga01

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Recently cleaned up a Stihl ms362 that the previous owner was throwing out. They said it didn’t run right. They turned all the carb adjustment screws randomly and I can’t seem to get the chainsaw to run. It’s getting spark, fuel and air, but I’m guessing the idle jet , high speed jet and the idle speed are set incorrectly. I’m wondering if someone here knows what a close base setting for the carb would be. How many turns out from the screw all the way in? Turning it clockwise or counter clockwise. I’m new to chainsaw carbs so any help is appreciated. Most video’s want you to adjust the carb with it running but I can’t get it running with the screws as messed up as they are.

After a few pulls check the plug and see if it is wet.....Did you pressure/vacuum the saw to see if it was alright. A bad air leak can make a saw hard to start and/or stay running... After I fool with one a while and can't get it set right I pressure test to rule that out. You can also pressure/vacuum test the carb...Try a different plug and I have had coils before show spark, but would not start a saw so don't rule that out 100%...ALso after fooling with a carb for to long I buy one.

Here is a good video on how to test a carb......

Here is a carb I would buy as you got the saw for a really good deal or maybe free if no luck with the carb you have......

https://www.ebay.com/itm/OEM-Stihl-...VAAAOSwdzZeHc4y:sc:USPSFirstClass!24281!US!-1