Stihl O66 milling green horn

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ghost work

Reaction score
Ive been reading into these forums for a few months now and have decided to join into the conversation myself to see if i can get some more direct information generated to help myself in my journey. Im located in eastern north carolina, just moved here a few months ago and with all the logging going on ive gotten the itch to mill and im jumping head first into it (most of it being southern pine). Im a carpenter / furniture builder of 10+ years. I bought a used 066 (powehead only) as a christmas gift to myself. I will be starting with all on site milling, i live in a residential neighborhood and do not have the means to haul whole logs home and into the yard. The local saw mechanins ive befriended distribute stihl and oregon products, so that being my easiest access i figure i would start with them. im extremely green to the process so sharpening chains down for milling purposes im sure will take years to get them done right (or even close to acceptable). Im looking for advice on weather oregon rip chain is a good starting point ? Based of my power head and lack of experience i do not plan on jumping to a 30" bar right away. I do plan on getting an alaskan mill set up in the future. But will be starting with a homemade alaskin mill style rig at first. (Witch will be built around my bar purchase) What would be a reasonable set up from oregon bar / chain combination that would match to the 066 powerhead ? Or does someone from the area have any better suggestions ?