Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

chainsawman53

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
DSCF1210.jpg Hello from down under, (Australia)
I am new to restoring old Stihl chainsaws and ran into a problem finding fan housing badges. I bought one from America
and I am not impressed with it. It does not have the curve to fit on a 08s and is 1mm thick not 1.5 mm like the original.
The price is another thing.
So I had this idea to make water decals that fit on the old badges. I sand them and spray them with silver first for the best results.
The question is: Is there a market for this product? I sell these decals in 2 different colours ( like the Photos) worldwide on Ebay.
Regards,
GarryDSCF1196.jpg DSCF1206.jpg

Interesting. So the first photo is the original and the last are the decals? Looks like the red could be stronger but otherwise, nice work.
Is there a market? Maybe. Sure would be simple to sand and install a decal. Would you remove the emblem anyway so you could paint underneath, then glue it back in place? Have you thought of printing on metallic decal stock? There are shiny and dull finishes.

Gotta remember that you're selling something for a vintage chainsaw. How many people are you close with like vintage chainsaws? How many of the old saws are around? How many of those people and those saws need a new badge? I often forget how silly playing this vintage saw game is.

That what my wife says. Waste of money, but we have to waste it on something. Who gets the saws and looks after them when I am dead. ( I am 65) Stopping now after having 1x07,1x08,3x08s,1x045,1x032.
Plus my work saws like ms 381 and 023.
I do these stickers because of the fun of it, there is no money in it. It took and old ex german, living in Australia for 40 years, to come up with a silly idea that works.
Regards,
Garry