Stihl Shredder Vac

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

1Alpha1

100% USDA Certified Abnormality-Free.
AS Supporting Member.
Reaction score
I've been using an electric Toro vac for years w/o any real issues or problems. I get kind of tired pulling the power cord around, but it's just part and parcel of the job.

Lately, I've been thinking about buying a Stihl Shredder Vac. Looked at the SH-56 C-E and the SH-86 C-E. They are $199.95 and $299.95 respectively.

Both are 27.2 cc's, and bhp ratings are .09 and 1.1 respectively. There is approx. less than 1 lb. in overall weight difference between the two.

I've examined both at my local Stihl dealer. The SH-86 is considered a pro-model. I know the elec. vacs develop a higher wind speed compared to the gas models. I've never used a gas vac before and am concerned that it may not be as strong as my Toro.

The Stihl dealer I spoke to said that all Stihl OPE have a 7-day money-back guarantee if you buy an item and don't like it.

I'm ready to spring for one, but thought I'd ask first if anyone on here has any experiences, good or bad, with either model? I don't have a bunch of leaves lying around to test it on, but I think I could come up with some weeds here and there. I've got some weed-wacking to do in the near future, and I could test the vac on the remains.

Anyways, if anyone has some comments, tips, or advice, please sound off and let me know.

TIA!

sh86ce.png

The 86's work great! Trust me it'll work much better than your electric one. The stats don't tell the whole story! The 56 and 86 take a good minute to warm up to get to full speed as they are strato motors. Also a fine blower you'll get. The av is nice and it comes
with a HD filter. I like the 85 more just because you get power right from start up. Other than that the 86 is what I'd recommend