storing and seasoning firewood tips

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RoosterBoy

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
hi this is my first year cutting and splitting my own firewood can someone give me some good ideas on making some type cheep structure for seasoning my firewood so rain and snow don't get at it.

i am stock piling a 6 to 10 years of wood in advance ;-)

also if you have any pictures of your outdoor wood pile post so i can see how you do it.

thank you
Jason

I try to store mine on 4 foot by 10 ft pallets. It keeps them off the wet ground. Cover the top with a tarp, but not the sides. You want airflow through the center of the pile to help drying and to keep insects from piling. I don't know if 10 year old wood would be sutible for burning...unless you stacked in a climate controlled garage....

Steve

Pallets good. Airflow good.

10 years? Probably not good.

Dry climate? Maybe.

As for seasoning the wood, I like cayenne pepper, myself. :D

RoosterBoy said:
hi this is my first year cutting and splitting my own firewood can someone give me some good ideas on making some type cheep structure for seasoning my firewood so rain and snow don't get at it.

also if you have any pictures of your outdoor wood pile post so i can see how you do it.

thank you
Jason

6-10 years? I doubt if it will keep that long but I am trying it myself as I can see the time coming when I will have to give up making wood.

Basic idea is to keep rain/snow off the top of the pile while allowing air through the sides. For a permanent type cover, all you really need is the roof with open sides. Maybe one wall on the windward side to keep driven rain/snow off.

You can tarp the tops of the ricks but that is only a temparory fix as those tarps don't last many seasons and are a constant nuisance anyhow.