String Trimmer Pros Use?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
OK, I read the thread and wanted to add not only a few experiences but also my original trimmer vs. the latest trimmers I have acquired in the past 3 years or so.
I am not a pro, but do enough heavy clearing I might as well be.
Originally, my first trimmer is a 1994 Echo SRM 2110 with the U handle. This trimmer lasted me 22-24 years with the only thing I did to it being a carb rebuild kit and fuel lines and a 3 hole fuel tank grommet around the 20 year mark. At present, it sits semi retired, waiting on my to do a top end on it and see how it runs again . As it sits, I feel like the compression has gotten low enough to where the machine won't start. I know it is not the carb either, because I swapped carbs off it and onto my SRM 3100 which runs great with it or the original one off the 3100.

Since acquiring the 2100, I got the 3100 at auction, a Stihl FS90 AVE with U handle, and a SRM 210. Currently the 2 Echo's run.

As I had given the stepdaughter and her husband, her mom's Homelite Curved Shaft trimmer that lasted a year or 2 before the husband told me it got broken, I now went on the hunt for a cheap enough decent trimmer for them. In the end, I got like 4 Free Homelite, Toro type homeowner specials, and for $50 a nice running John Deere Straight shaft trimmer that the seller threw in an echo backpack blower in for me as a bonus.