stump killer

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Stump Man

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
I have been using Tordon for a few years. Had excellant results. Last year I treated a 3 ft diam willow right after I cut it down. No suckers at all.

Just be very very careful -

Tordon isn't labelled for that, true, it does kill. It's a amine salt of 2,4-Dicholoro-oxyacetic acid - 1/2 of what Agent Orange is. When the label mentions precautions and hygene, PLEASE pay double attention (meaning scrub 'til it bleeds). Trust me on this one.

I've had luck here doing two things - one is drilling, depending on the species, two is I offer a reduced removal rate if they let me burn the stump. I don't stump grind anymore, I can refer it or subcontract, but either way it's practically as expensive as the takedown.

I used tordon once and i treated about 40 stumps on a hillside. all the stumps died but so did all the norway spruce tree that were downhill from the treated stumps. from now on ill use roundup 100% on fresh cut stumps.it doesnt leach into the soil like tordon does. I did read the label on tordon but i must have missed the small print. This stuff is very dangerous. this stuff should only be used for line clearance or right of way. jpm

Yeah, RoundUp works best. I never had to use more than a few squirts from an 'ol Windex bottle, as long as the cut's fresh and you get it on the sapwood.

we always used full strenth round up.Unless it was a palm stump
that the customer needed to kill the stump . Then we used dirty H2o

There are studies thatshow a 20-25% dilution works as well as 100% of roundup pro. I believe if you use 100% your going off label and would need a specila use permit.