Tall leaner

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hey guys im still learning to climb trees, did some removal today.
Tree was Acacia and it was leaning pretty low so i threw a climbing rope and climbed up right to the very inch of the tree.
As soon as i reached up i realized i need to get on top of the tree to get a safer work platform.
But i couldnt pull myself up, "wonder" if im physically unfit or something :p.
So i fired my saw and cut those branches from under the tree which was not safe i assume.
1 arm holding tree not to swing around, 1 sawing away the branches.
Anyways how do you guys suggest to remove leaners if there is any obstacle below say fence and **** like that.
Thanks in advance : )

Always go up the lean. If it's a removal wear Spurs. Climb to a good spot to set your line clear stuff below and bomb down the top. Stay on the leaning side and block it down.....if you have obstacles below you, rig your cut pieces. I'm being nice, now prepare for a mad amount of hurt headed your way from the other members.

Besides the danger in not being able to control the saw properly, one handing the saw will also cause wrist problems when you do it for a while.

I trust you were tied in twice when you fired up your saw (TITS - tie in twice stupid)

The thing is its leaning too much for spur climbing and i doubt there is other way than climbing with ropes.
Yes i agree with bad saw control and wrist/elbow/shoulder associated problems.
I wasnt TITS, i know its dangerous. I should be doing that after this, was already considering it though

Quick questions.

1. If a tree is gradually leaning from mid, and i climb on top of the lean i have to let loose some slack and start leaning backwards right ?
2. How do you cut/"see" branches under the lean when you're leaning backwards ?

Thanks alot in advance pls comment