Termites and/or carpenters ant advice

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hurricane2730

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm in my first year of firewood stocking, so i apologize for any newbie like tendancies.

I recently got some free firewood from a neighbor and thought it was pretty sawdusty, but have since researched it to be some sort of frass.

I'm starting to panic that maybe i've invited termites or carpenter ants to be a bit too close to my home and/or wood pile. Unfortunately, we have a pretty small back yard and the furthest I can keep firewood from the house is about 5 feet and if we did put it there it'd be directly next to our fence.

Here's examples of the evidence i'm talking about

I've split a good chunk of it so far and haven't found any nests of anything - so that's good I hope.

I've decided to keep it elevated on some bricks, separate from the rest of my other wood, and sprinkled diatomaceous earth around it in hopes that if there is anything still there that would take care of it. I know people say to split it and over time they'll go away since it's no longer moist, but with my piles being close to my house, I wan't to make sure I'm doing everything appropriately.

My wife thinks we should just chuck all of it and it isn't worth any infestations down the road. I just don't know where I'd be able to haul it and it would be a pain to load it all back up.

Any advice on what to do would be great! Thanks!