Thoughts on This Method?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Freudianfloyd

Clinically Diagnosed with CAD
Reaction score
As I have said many times, I am not a pro. I just cut trees around my farm and for family members.

With that said, I watch and read alot about the proper ways to fell trees. The method both the Stihl and Husqvarna videos show is to make your wedge and then make your back cut about an inch higher through the back, obviously this isnt the case for all trees, but I digress. Also this is how I have started doing it, and I have had good success.

But then I ran across this video of a few Swedish arborists, and they flat out say that method is dangerous and they were trained differently.

It looks like their concern is that when you cut higher than the wedge, you risk cutting too far, but I'm not sure how that would make a difference.

So which method is better? What do you typically do. Obviously I'm talking about healthy trees that are straight without any other concerns.

I think what they're getting at in the Swedish Homestead video is that it's easier to ensure that you don't cut through your hinge if it's at the same height as your face cut. It's just a little easier to gauge the thickness that way.

Making your back cut higher than the face cut helps ensure that the tree doesn't come back opposite the direction of the fall. Not a guarantee, but it helps.

Conversely, making your back cut lower than the face cut can be used if you're pulling a tree over. This can help to keep the bottom of the log from pulling off the stump instead of the tree being pulled over.

Nice link regarding what OSHA and the Federal Government have to say about it. It looks to me like they recommend what the Swedish Homestead guy had recommended.