Time for a new chain?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mustang71

Addicted to ArboristSite
AS Supporting Member.
Reaction score
So I've been cutting for 7 years now and this is a newbie question. My recent ash tree issues have had me cutting a ton. I hand file all my chains and grind the guides down but the other day half way through an ash tree my stihl was just kind of gliding on the wood. I thought the guides were to tall so I ground them down and not much of a difference. If I lean on the saw it chips but I dont want to do that. The chain is filed every time I clean it after use so it's been filed a lot but still looks good. This isn't the only saw doing this same thing. When is it time for a new chain? Like a real one, a stihl not some box store soft saftey one. My little green poulan runs box store chains and has seen a lot of file and tree work and currently chips better than the stihl yellow one.

Now sounds good but any dull chain I have had smokes and doesnt cut. It chips of you lean on it and it's a stihl chain. They are hard unlike a Chinese chain. I just want to make sure I'm not missing something before I scrap a good expensive chain. I'm not new it's just a new question for a weekend warrior.