Tip guard

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

blizzard

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Hey i have never used a saw before but just got a stihl ms 170. after reading everything about kickbacks I am a little weary of it. Will a tip guard prevent kickbacks? Also, where could I get a tip guard from?? I wouldn't use it forever, but just till I get use to using a chainsaw. ALso, has anyone ever seen this kickback protector?check out the link. http://www.safeguardventures.com/default.html#features

in the 2 years ive run a chainsaw ive never had a serious kickback, mabey hit something with the tip at low speed after cutting through a log on a woodpile and had the saw rattle some. but really the only way to stop a kickback is to watch your tip, and have good common sense. youll be ok, just watch where your cutting, but you should be doing that anyways. :greenchainsaw:

Kickback...an overplayed fear used to sell rubbish to people, primarily non-commercial saw users who don't know better and haven't received any competent instruction on saw use in the first place, whether from an experienced human or a respected text.

Use your brain and you'll be fine. A saw of that size couldn't induce very much force into a kickback even if it wanted to really badly. Now a total novice setting to work with a 70cc+ machine, then we might have something to discuss. But an MS170? Not so much.

But if you need to slap some silly gadget on your saw, go for it.

One important thing to remember is to keep your left thumb wrapped around the handlebar. This lets the inertia chainbrake work correctly. Watch the upper quadrant of the bar nose and you will be OK.

Just when you thought you'd seen everything. :dizzy:

That is the dumbest thing I've ever seen. :laugh:

Blizzard, follow the advice above, learn the proper way to use a chainsaw and use your head.