Tricky tree to take down.

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

NvrDwn

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
So you can see this tree has a wicked angle. But this is a dangerous tree close to my pond and needs to come down and it will provide some good firewood. I'm a novice at cutting trees down with about 10 trees to my name. I can see this tree falling and then the end that I cut take a immediate left or right. Maybe a higher possibility of barberchair? I will clear a large area for escape. Any advice I should be aware of?

Thanks.

Attachments

• 20180408_181638.jpg
    20180408_181638.jpg
    7.7 MB · Views: 290
  • 20180408_181634.jpg
    20180408_181634.jpg
    4 MB · Views: 279
I'd make a shallow open face notch, bore cut the middle leaving a healthy hinge and a good sized trigger. Then I'd release the trigger from about 18" further towards the roots. With a sharp chain on a powerful saw and being ready to escape quickly. As long as I cut all the fibers that make up the trigger it should go, but the action of the fibers pulling part will slow the fall and hopefully give me plenty of time to get away.

I'm no professional. I have cut a lot more than 10 trees though, and I've attended a chainsaw safety course which was extremely informative. It's hard to tell from a picture, but I think I could do it safely. Can you? I have no idea. If you're at all in doubt if your ability, call someone who can put it on the ground safely.

I'd make a shallow open face notch, bore cut the middle leaving a healthy hinge and a good sized trigger. Then I'd release the trigger from about 18" further towards the roots. With a sharp chain on a powerful saw and being ready to escape quickly. As long as I cut all the fibers that make up the trigger it should go, but the action of the fibers pulling part will slow the fall and hopefully give me plenty of time to get away.