Troubleshooting Stihl 026 Won’t Run

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Matt Martin

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hey guys, unfortunately I did not grow up in a mechanically inclined family so everything I’ve learned has been self-taught or researched online. My greatest accomplishment was rebuilding my push mower’s carb and getting it to run. I know, pretty lame.

My father-in-law paid $25 for an 026 that wouldn’t start and gave it to me. I’d like to try my hand at getting this thing to run. My biggest fear is taking things apart and not really understanding their function, but at some point I need to get over that. I thought this would be a great time to try.

What would be the process you experts would follow to see if you could get the saw started and running? What would you do first, second, third, etc? At what point, assuming your knowledge was limited like mine, would you give up? What parts should be replaced compared to being cleaned and put back on?

Thanks in advance for any and all help!!

Pull the muffler to check the condition of the piston, should be smooth, no vertical streaking. If all looks good, pull the spark plug and place it against the cylinder with the lead attached and give the starter a yank to see if you have spark. If the saw has both of these things in good working order, chances are, the problem is fuel related. The next thing to do would be to squirt some fuel mix into the cylinder through the spark plug hole and reinstall the plug, then try to start the saw. If she fires and dies, chances are you’ll be needing to rebuild the carb. Good luck, hope this helps.:cool:

Here’s a pic of the muffler cover removed and looking at the cylinder... I THINK!!

;-)

Attachments

• 9CB1E0D4-7A0F-4ACC-B38C-4912F25A1A96.jpeg
    9CB1E0D4-7A0F-4ACC-B38C-4912F25A1A96.jpeg
    1.2 MB · Views: 73