Trying to save old trees

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Joe-S

Reaction score
I am a grounds keeper at a school in PA there is a plan to put a bus lane in front of the school. The contractor will need to remove four trees by the high way. There are some other trees by the building and they provide a great deal of shade in the hotter months.

They will need to back fill by the building and trees by the building for drainage. I was told that any added soil placed over the present tree roots close to the surface would kill them. So they wold like to remove them as well. Any truth to this I have never heard it before, but I am not a tree pro. any help would be greatly appreciated.

Joe

Alternative to removal

Hey Joe,

What a good move coming here first for some input. My day to day goal is to save trees if possible, recently I would venture to say I am going global.