Tying in LP furnace fan with Wood furnace fan

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

weloveburning

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Did a search and could not find the answer to this question on here. Have any of you that have a thermostat on your wood furnace been able to tie that into your LP furnace fan for more push when the Wood Furnace fan kicks in?

Wondering weather we would go directly to the furnace with a wire from the Wood burner thermostat, or go to the LP thermostat?

I hope that I'm making sense here. Basically we want the LP furnace fan to kick on and off at the same time that the fan on the Wood furnace kicks in, thus pushing more of the hot air supplied to the LP furnace by the wood furnace fan.

Any suggestions???

is your wood burner not pushing hard enough ? im no expert but i know you can get a inline duct fan to increase flow they are on ebay pretty cheap i was going to use one if needed there 110 volt you could tie that in with wood burner fan come on same time like i say im no expert but where thers a will theres a way.

I hear you. Actually the Wood furnace has a beefy 850 fan on it, but it just doesn't quite get the heat to the back bedrooms. I can manually turn on the house furnace fan, and get the heat there without issue, so if I can tie the thermostat to the house furnace fan so that it kicks on at the same time, I'm good to go. I know it can be done, just not sure to wire to the house thermostat or direct to the fan on the furnace, from the thermostat on the Wood Furnace. :confused:

There's a schematic on the inside panel of your furnace, look for a terminal board that shows fan control wiring from your house thermostat. Follow the wiring diagram and you should be able to do it. Turn the breaker off first though, no need to be poking around in there with the power on.