Ultrasonic cleaner timer hack.

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

roncoinc

Official Stihl Disser
Reaction score
USC project.small HF model.
Had this one awhile,,put something in it i shouldnt have and it overflowed and killed it.
took it apart,found a corroded leg on a chip,cleaned and resoldered and it worked
looking at that board i saw the timer button real close to the chip,,now i been meening to look into by passing that timer for awhile now.
Took out the fluke and started tracing circuits,well,turns out some need power to do that so i studied and made an educated guess.
got it second guess !!!..knew i was close due to standard layout of a timer IC,,this one had NO id on it at all or i could have looked it up.
did not bypass timer completely but,,,,,,the on/off button now turns the timer on OR off !
machine turns on when plugged in like always.
the timer button works as it should.
on/off button turns timer off and unit stays on or push on/off button and it turns timer on and it counts down and shuts of.
now for an inline switch.

If anybody has the large HF model broke they could pull the timer button board out of and send me a pic i could see about hacking that one,,but it may be the same board.. ?

MVC-444F.JPG

I've never used a ultrasonic cleaner or looked at one up close... I don't understand what is the benefit of having the timer bypassed... I'm sure it is a good one, but I can't think of anything unless it is annoying somehow.

Obviously this is over my head, but I'm super curious.

I've never used a ultrasonic cleaner or looked at one up close... I don't understand what is the benefit of having the timer bypassed... I'm sure it is a good one, but I can't think of anything unless it is annoying somehow.