Vermeer sc252 question about cutting wheel turning off

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Daylen lathers

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hi there I have an 04 sc252. Great machine and runs perfect. I have noticed lately once in awhile the grinding wheel will randomly just shut off. Even if I'm not really taking much of a bite. You actually almost dont even know it turned off until you look at the wheel. Then I just have to simply lower rpms and turn the switch off and then back on. It will then start spinning again and back to grinding. It doesnt happen often but it happens once in awhile. Just wondering what this may be in case it decides to turn off and not turn back on at all. I was thinking my on/off switch is on it's way out. Thanks !

Hi there Daylen. First I want to say I’m no equipment mechanic. I’m very mechanically inclined, was an auto tech for years, and an automation technician at a medical manufacturing facility for 10 years where I now run the night shift. I do not think the switch is your problem, however, my 252 may be different than yours, it’s a 2012. And I’m new to the stump grinding game in general. Anyway. If ours are the same here is why it’s not the switch:

I have the saftey control where if you let go of the operating levers the wheel shuts itself off. The on/off switch is only a “momentary switch”. Meaning it is only used initially to turn it on momentarily, and when pushed down momentarily again to shut the wheel off. Otherwise it’s in a neutral position so to speak doing nothing.

Unless you have a literal on/off switch I might be getting out a meter and looking at the coil that holds the clutch in the “on position” or the clutch itself if you think it’s a mechanical thing.