Vintage Granberg Alaskan Jr Lumber making attachment tips for the noob

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jon Heron

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I was given this old mill which appears to of had very little use. I have zero milling experience but have been doing some reading on here and watching some youtube.
I have an MS460 and am thinking a 25" bar should be good for this? I will be milling mostly white pine and Northern Ontario red oak.
Any suggestions for a budget 25" bar and chain? I see Farmertec has cheap bars but I dont see any ripping chain options.
I was unsuccessful at finding a manual for this thing, can somebody point me to some information on how to use one these, such as mounting the saw in it?
Cheers,
Jon

Attachments

• PXL_20210411_222639366.jpg
    PXL_20210411_222639366.jpg
    3.4 MB · Views: 31
  • PXL_20210411_222715826.PORTRAIT.jpg
    PXL_20210411_222715826.PORTRAIT.jpg
    4.8 MB · Views: 29
  • PXL_20210411_222732649.PORTRAIT.jpg
    PXL_20210411_222732649.PORTRAIT.jpg
    3.2 MB · Views: 29
I have no ideas about that one. Looks like you might have to drill holes in the bar. Someone will probably be along shortly that knows something.

You could also try calling Granberg, or send them an email.

That mill is similar in design to the Sperber mill of the 1970's.
Yes the bar has to have holes drilled into it to which the mill is attached.
Like all early mills they were not very ergonomic as the have very few places to hang onto above the log.
The one handle high up on the inboard upright is too high and likely to want to tip the mill forward.
Adding a lengthwise handle between the two uprights no more than half way up would improve things considerably.

Yup it is from the 70's. Putting a handle between the 2 pipes should be easy enough.