Want to plant hardwoods, should I start with 12” seedlings or 4-6’ trees?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Newbietreefarmer

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hey all, I’m interested in planting a variety of hardwoods on some VT land. Mainly Black Walnut, Black Cherry and Northern Red Oak but I’m open to suggestions for valuable timber.

I’ve done a lot of homework already, figured out spacing on how to build a pond and a drip arrogation. I’ll also be working with a forester once I actually get going. That said I’m no expert.

I see options to buy 6-12” seedlings up to 5-6’ trees. Now what I’m wondering is how much faster will a 5-6’ tree reach maturity than would a 6-12” seedling? I’m looking at 4-5’ or 5-6’ trees, it seems like they are less vulnerable to rodents and deer eating them.

I know this would be a very long term investment but I look at this as a legacy investment, something that I can pass the proceeds on to the next generation. Considering the value of land to the value of timber the potential profits are very solid. Thanks!

Maturity is going to take 30-40 years, I would stick with the much cheaper seedling option.
Thank you for your advice, this is a mix of planning for retirement and helping family. 30-40 years is fine, I figure following good advice, watering and fertilizing will help them grow big and strong. I figure trees are insurance against me living too long haha. I’d also like to make some money for my nephew. He’s special and will need 24/7 care his whole life, I’d like to help my brother and his wife when they’re too old to care for him.

I'd not imagine 5-6 ft trees are inexpensive?

How many acres are you trying to plant?

I've had much better luck with smaller trees surviving.