Was this pesticide?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ZachAK

Maker of much sawdust
AS Supporting Member
Reaction score
I'm a woodworker here in SE Alaska and ran into what I think is a hole drilled for pesticide while turning a bowl out of a mountain ash (also called rowan tree) that was cut down next to a house.

It's a 1/2' hole with small plastic mini-cups in it...maybe 4 or 5 in the hole. Dimensions on the cups are about 5/16" across by 1/4" high.

IMG_0542.JPG IMG_0543.JPG IMG_0544.JPG

I've been told this could be insecticide or fertilizer. Needless to say, I don't want to use these bowls if it's a pesticide.

Does anyone have any ideas on figuring out what might have been used? It's beautiful wood from a beautiful tree, and seems a terrible shame to not use it.

Thanks in advance.

Zach

i suspect termite drill hole and the plug, call your local termite co for what pesticide they may use and its harmful life span

https://www.google.com.au/search?q=...Q_AUIBigB#tbm=isch&q=termite+test+drill+plugs
Thanks! Crazy thing is that there are only a few termites in homes that somehow brought them up here to Alaska...and to my knowledge the only pest control folks are out of town, 100 miles away off of our island. I know the tree didn't have termites, since I've cut into most all of it.

But you may well be right. I'll keep checking around. Thanks again.

That's a good lead, Jed. Thank you. The tree had already been dropped and bucked into rounds when I got there, but based on diameter, I'm fairly certain the hole was somewhere between waist height and chest height. I'll keep doing more research.

Any trained arb wouldn't do an injection at that height. It's not a projectile is it?