Web Guy

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BCHguy

Reaction score
So, a little background on myself. I am actually a business owner, but I don't do trees. I do websites.

About a year or so ago, I moved into a new home which me and the family loved. It has a huge back yard for being in town ( a small town, granted) but it was so overgrown that you couldn't even really tell how big it was. So, I got to work and after weeks of busting my butt, I think I cleared a few feet of undergrowth. You couldn't even tell I had done anything.

So, after that I got my money together and started calling tree companies. Being a website designer/SEO guy, the first thing I did was call up the first couple results on Google. I can honestly say that I wasn't impressed with the people I talked to.

I decided to go old school and busted out the phone book. I ended up calling a guy in town that had absolutely no advertising whatsoever. Honestly not sure how people were finding him other than word of mouth. We talked, he came out and gave me a quote and I told him what I did.

We worked out a compromise of him taking my design fees out of his fees and I paid him the difference. He did an amazing job, they were here for almost three days. There is NO WAY I could have even remotely done what they did. And they didn't even remove any trees. It was all just trimming and pulling stuff out of there. Did I mention the crazy vines growing everywhere?

After all was said and done, I loved his work and he loved his website. He didn't have a lot of money up front to pay for monthly SEO fees for me to get his site ranking (he wants to rank in a city of about 100k that's 15 miles away) so we worked out a 10% commission on jobs he specifically got from the site I built him. After a few months, and he was getting steady work, we decided on a flat fee that we both felt was fair.