What additions are you making to your 2020 firewooding arsenal?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
A tractor sure makes firewood a lot easier. Especially with a skidding winch, and even more so with 4wd and a loader, though those last bits tend to bring the price up an awful lot. Just a 2wd and a winch can get a lot done though.

Myself, I'm pretty set on adding a grapple for my Kubota this spring. I've been using pallet forks for the last 6 years, and they do the job for the most part, but a grapple will be super slick for dealing with brush and for selecting and placing logs more carefully instead of having to let them roll or slide off the end of the forks. It'll make loading my trailer much easier.

I'm constantly trying to improve my system and make things more efficient, productive and easier. The biggest change i recently made is getting twenty 330 gallon IBC totes to put my wood in. Since getting them about 1 week ago, I have filled 7 of them.

I have a woodshed for one year, and the totes for the next. Each way can accommodate the 8 full cords a year I burn. I hope to get on a 3 year plan this way. I also have pallets with ends that accommodate another 5 full cords for overflow. I'm also labeling the totes with the type of wood and date filled.

I'm also building a heavy duty pressure treated staging table to put by the splitter.

Last year I added a sawbuck to my operation for smaller diameter stuff

I'm constantly trying to improve my system and make things more efficient, productive and easier. The biggest change i recently made is getting twenty 330 gallon IBC totes to put my wood in. Since getting them about 1 week ago, I have filled 7 of them.