What is the attraction

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ax-man

Addicted to ArboristSite
Reaction score
Since there has been much activity in this forum as of late, maybe some of the people that post in this forum can answer a question for me.

What is the attraction to this rec tree climbing fad that seems to be catching on all around the country??? It would be interesting to hear from those that do it for sport and not for money.

Larry

I've been climbing trees for fun for 15 years at least. I've guided climbs into west coast big trees and spent many nights in a Treeboat or Portaledge solo and with other friends.

In my rec climbing gear locker I have a portaledge, Treeboat that I've modified and another flat hammock/tent configuration. There are probably eight New Tribe saddles and all of the ropes and biners that they need.

This is hardly a fad. More attention is getting paid to this activity.

Take a look here:

http://www.newtribe.com/caves2005.htm#Top

There will be a few folks from the pro climbing world attending too. On one evening I'm doing a talk called MIA:Modifications, Innovations and Adaptations. Tobe Sherrill is coming down along with 2005 ITCC World Champion Dan Kraus.

How many others are going to be there?

Tom,

I like your quote: "Peace is Patriotic too". Off the subject, I'm amazed at how old WWII veteran soldiers from all fronts can come together for a peaceful reunion. How can Brits and Germans play soccer on Christmas Eve on a battle field? Why didn't that happen on December 6th 1941?

Ax-Man,

I climb for numerous reasons. It's a three dimensional puzzle. It teaches a life lesson that techniques can conquer conditions. I feel spiritually connected when sitting in the canopy. Climbers are a good community of people to get to know. I think knots on rope is an ancient skill that resides in all of us. It burns calories.

Regards,