What should a 372xp rebuild cost?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wash-climber

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I have a 372xp, pre xtorq. At idle it slowly drops in rpm until it dies. When I tilt it to its side the idle speed goes up. Bad crank seals? I checked the cylinder, light scoring :( I'm wondering what would be fair to pay a shop to rebuild it. Crank seals, cylinder, piston, fuel lines, etc. I am working too much to do it myself, as I am an inexperienced builder.

Reference: my shop quoted 450 to fully rebuild my 200t.

OEM parts will be in the neighborhood of $250. Most shops charge $60 and up for an hour of their time. I could see them billing between two and four hours for the labor, so $400 would be fair.

If you cleaned up your cylinder, sourced your own parts using the aftermarket where it makes sense, and did it yourself you could spend right around $100-$150.

OEM parts will be in the neighborhood of $250. Most shops charge $60 and up for an hour of their time. I could see them billing between two and four hours for the labor, so $400 would be fair.

If you cleaned up your cylinder, sourced your own parts using the aftermarket where it makes sense, and did it yourself you could spend right around $100-$150.
Unless it needs a new oem p/c, then he blew the budget.:)

Agree, light piston scoring. Might be able to clean up piston also. New rings $15, gasket and seals $10. If keeping it, worth a try.
The 2156 I picked up recently had a piston as close to any that I could have re-used. I've never done that. It will be kept to go with the saw when I sell it after I run it.

The Chinese kit for rebuilding the 372 is $200 with crank and big bore cylinder. The husky cylinder/piston is $190.