When do you shut it down for the year?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Wayned24

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
I'm sure this has been discussed 1000 times on here, but I'm fairly new to the site. This is my first year using my OWB and I was just wondering if you guys had a date of when you shut it down for the year or do you just play it by ear? I'm running into the scenario where it gets chilly at night in Ohio so it's useful to burn, but during the day, my blower doesn't run and the fire goes out. Anyone have any tips to tackle that or is it just something I will need to deal with?

Mines been running 24/7 since 2008. I've shut it down for maintenance a few times. I heat water and pool as well. Burns very little wood in the summer and stays lit no problem.

Mine ran into early May last year. I would have shut it down sooner by a couple weeks but I made some changes and wanted to see it run for a couple weeks with those changes. I don't heat my DHW.

With the highs now creeping into the mid to upper 30's and the sun getting stronger it will slow down pretty good. Go to 1/4 loads so I don't get a ton of coals built up.

I'm sure this has been discussed 1000 times on here, but I'm fairly new to the site. This is my first year using my OWB and I was just wondering if you guys had a date of when you shut it down for the year or do you just play it by ear? I'm running into the scenario where it gets chilly at night in Ohio so it's useful to burn, but during the day, my blower doesn't run and the fire goes out. Anyone have any tips to tackle that or is it just something I will need to deal with?