While I'm Not A Newbie,... Why Is Using Spikes to "Prune Only" A Bad Thing?"

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

StihlRockin'

ArboristSite Guru
Reaction score
Here in N. Minnesota, not necessarily the twin metro, but hours N. of that...

Climbing with SRT or similar is not common. Using spikes for removal however, is.

Using spikes to remove a few dead limbs is common around here. I ask you fellow Arboristsite members the drawbacks or negs of using spikes for simple trimming jobs.

OK, more specific...

What are the disadvantages or negatives of trimming trees of their dead limbs and not full removals when the tree is fully alive and healthy?

I feel I know a few answers, but you guys are going to learn this dude some stuff. LOL!

Thanks!

StihlRockin'

The spikes will cause damage to the bark, phloem and cambium. The tree could get infected by that.
Spikes is fine for removal obviously. If you want to keep the tree "fully alive and healthy" I suggest that you prune spikeless.

Every spike mark will leave a wound an an entry location for infestation.

It is painfully obvious that spiking to prune a tree is not the correct means of caring for it and the scars look hideous for years to come. I have found that by practicing drt climbing even on a rig as simple as the Blake's hitch, you can be faster and more proficient at your work. With spikes, you will generally be limited to working the trunk of the tree, on drt you can limb walk and get to the outer branches for up close and precise trims. This is coming from someone who started out doing spike removals. It is liberating to learn how to navigate the whole tree and not be limited to hanging out near the trunk. Better learn your rope climbing and you will find that you will be more comfortable, do a better job and exert less energy in a tree to perform the same work. Good luck and safe climbing.