Will a woodpecker attack a healthy maple?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ontario026

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
I've had my eye on a nice sugar maple probably about 28" DBH, tall and straight, probably about 30ft to the lowest limbs or so.... on my sister's property and I finally got an alaskan mill for christmas, but todays I was out looking around and I noticed about 1/2 way up from the ground to the lower limbs there is a woodpecker hole about 6" high, not sure how deep.... Prior to this discovery, from what I could tell this maple looked like a very healthy tree (to me at least, but I'm no pro...)? Will woodpeckers attack a healthy tree or does it need to be soft/damaged/bug infested etc before they move in?? I'm just wondering if it is still worth while cutting down to try my hand at milling?? I was planning on making some nice boards out of the trunk, and some nice firewood out of the crown, but i'm not sure if it is worth it now...

You were going to...log it... oh, my God what a monster, a healthy tree like that. Seriously though, saw it down, I am sure there is some good wood in it, rest for firewood.

Wood peckers are only attracted to very rotton trees. They are trying to get an inch or so into the center, where there are millions of borers and ants and other bad insects.
If you do cut it down, all those bugs will head right to your sisters house!
Look for a boxelder. They have beautiful red coloring in the wood, and mill very easily.

When it comes to maples it is usually a sapsucker. They are very much like a woodpecker but they feed on sap. They generaly leave a patern in neat parallel lines. They like sweet sap in trees such as maple and pear and other fruit trees.

how do you know it's a woodpecker hole? The ones down here don't make holes that big, not even the pileateds that I see.