Woods ported 372 xtorq

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ronie

Addicted to ArboristSite
AS Supporting Member.
Reaction score
Just want to say that I'm not a professional porter and I've only done a few of my own saws so the outcome may be good or it could turn out to be a dud. I'm trying to keep the cost low so I'm using a mixture of OEM and aftermarket parts, whatever I have on hand. I'm starting out with an aftermarket case that I painted a cast iron color engine enamel.

KIMG1288.JPG

Started re-porting the OEM cylinder, I ground on this cylinder over a year ago and it was pretty rough so I cleaned it and the pop up piston up. Put the Timing wheel on it and got, EX 99 TR 120 and IN 80. Squish is .019 I'm going to to set the transfers at 117 and see how it does. Forgot to mention that I had to take some off the cylinder flange to get the cylinder to set flat on the case.

Attachments

• KIMG1303.JPG
    KIMG1303.JPG
    824.8 KB · Views: 40
  • KIMG1298.JPG
    KIMG1298.JPG
    1 MB · Views: 41
  • KIMG1299.JPG
    KIMG1299.JPG
    1.1 MB · Views: 40
It's going to be getting black plastics and I'll be painting the clutch cover that gray color. I already have a black OEM starter housing and top cover but will have to dye a tank for it with RIT dye. I'll be dyeing an aftermarket tank for it, not the OEM one in the pic.

KIMG1297.JPG

Finished it putting it together and fired it a few minutes ago, now I just got to get it tuned.
View attachment 866220View attachment 866221
I’m really diggin‘ that paint scheme, but I feel like it needs a little more silver in there somewhere, maybe a silver recoil? Now I wanna get one of these and trick it out like this, darn it!