Welcome to ArboristSite.com! Log in or Sign up to interact with the ArboristSite community.

ArboristSite.com Sponsors
 
 


  1. Please see this post Click Here Please ask questions if you have them!! I hope this is going to be great for us all.
    Dismiss Notice

Yamaha TTR 225 no power under load

Discussion in 'Reader's Rides' started by happysaws, Aug 25, 2018.

  1. BusyBeaver

    BusyBeaver ArboristSite Lurker

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2014
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    68
    If it's like my '07, it has a vacuum operated, diaphragm slide throttle. Check that the diaphragm is intact and drill out the hole that sends the vacuum signal up top.
    Also be sure to gut the muffler out as suggested. Then get your jets sorted out. The pilot jet screw is EPA non adjustable similar to a chainsaw's jets. You have to drill off the jet access cover to expose the slotted screw and then adjust the screw out to richen it up. Stock is 1 1/4 out, set it at 2.5 -3 turns out. Makes all the difference in the world.
    BB
     
    happysaws and s sidewall like this.
  2. happysaws

    happysaws Addicted to ArboristSite

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2016
    Messages:
    1,221
    Likes Received:
    2,019
    Location:
    Somewhere between the north and south poles
    Running good, but it starts hard and idles rough when cold.
     
  3. happysaws

    happysaws Addicted to ArboristSite

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2016
    Messages:
    1,221
    Likes Received:
    2,019
    Location:
    Somewhere between the north and south poles
    Where is this jet access cover?
     
  4. s sidewall

    s sidewall Addicted to ArboristSite

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2014
    Messages:
    5,622
    Likes Received:
    6,971
    Location:
    Bostwick, Ga
    Should be cut out around the float bowl, will be a hole with a plug in it, it's covers the mixture screw.

    Steve
     
  5. sb47

    sb47 Addicted to ArboristSite

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011
    Messages:
    2,464
    Likes Received:
    2,330
    Location:
    Texas
    As said before check for any in line filters or screens. DI box may be going out or the stater is going out. If the stater is not putting out enough currant it will bog at high RPM's
     
  6. s sidewall

    s sidewall Addicted to ArboristSite

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2014
    Messages:
    5,622
    Likes Received:
    6,971
    Location:
    Bostwick, Ga
    Lot easier to work on if looking at it.

    Steve
     
  7. s sidewall

    s sidewall Addicted to ArboristSite

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2014
    Messages:
    5,622
    Likes Received:
    6,971
    Location:
    Bostwick, Ga
    Get that bike going?

    Steve
     
  8. happysaws

    happysaws Addicted to ArboristSite

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2016
    Messages:
    1,221
    Likes Received:
    2,019
    Location:
    Somewhere between the north and south poles
    Ya, starts really well now, and runs well without the air filter. The float height was incorrect, it was letting too much fuel into the carb, causing it to constantly run rich and foul the plug.
     
    s sidewall likes this.
  9. s sidewall

    s sidewall Addicted to ArboristSite

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2014
    Messages:
    5,622
    Likes Received:
    6,971
    Location:
    Bostwick, Ga
    Glad to hear that.

    Steve
     
    happysaws likes this.

Share This Page