Ready for my first new chainsaw

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gravely_todd

ArboristSite Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone, I am new to the board and have been browsing through the various threads looking to glean some useful information which there is plenty of….I am looking at buying my first new chainsaw. I have been using an old Remington SL-10A for several years and although it is still a good running saw that I will keep, it is a bit small for what I need done now. Locally, I have dealers for Husqvarna, Stihl, Echo, and Shindaiwa products and am looking for a saw in the 50cc range with an 18” bar with the option of going to a 20” bar and staying in the $400 range. I have somewhat narrowed my choices down to a Husqvarna 455 Rancher, Shindaiwa 490, Stihl MS-290, and Echo CS-530. I know that many people are very “brand loyal”, but what I am looking for is people that own any one of these saws and how they feel about it….likes, dislikes etc, so I can make an educated purchase from people with experience, if anyone has another model of these four makes that you would think is a better fit in my price range and criteria, by all means list it as well and I will consider them.

Thanks

Todd

I think you should look at a Stihl MS260.
Great small pro model saw.
Awesome power to weight.
Very well respected and will last you a lifetime.
A little out of your price range, but in your shoes, that's what I'd buy....:cheers:

Last edited:
He said 400 dollar range

If he was me.. LOL He would be looking for a dolmar 5100.
But of your provided choices go for the 290 if you must stay within those choices.

What are you going to be cutting; firewood, storm cleanup, property maintenance??? And how big of wood are you expecting to get into

I think you should look at a Stihl MS260.
Great small pro model saw.
Awesome power to weight.