Limiter caps for Walbro WT carb?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Brian S

ArboristSite Guru
Reaction score
Hello everyone, this is my first post here and I would like to introduce myself before I get to the subject of my post.

My name is Brian, I am 29 and live in Arlington, Texas. I've been using chainsaws since I was a teenager, I am NOT a pro although I did run a landscape company and trimmed/removed storm damaged trees, never climbed or felled trees in residential areas. Now I cut firewood for myself and family, about 3 cords per year between us all. I started viewing this site while I was shopping for a new saw. I've really enjoyed reading posts here and I've learned a lot in the past couple of weeks.

I just got a new Echo CS-440 saw to supplement my aging Poulan Wild Thing which is getting near the end of its life. I can't complain too much about it as it has lasted 8 years and with good care it still runs fine but wears me out with vibrations.

My dilemma is this, my new Echo came to me running real lean and already as rich as it could go on the high side limiter cap. I got the caps out using a Matco broken screw extractor but I lost one cap in my workshop. I retuned on the rich side and the saw sounds much happier and the increase in torque with the bar deep in a log is noticible.

So, ok saw runs great. Lets call the Echo dealer 1.5 miles from my house and ask about limiter caps, I ask the nice lady if they have any limiter caps in stock for Walbro WT type carbs used on this CS-440. "The EPA will not let us sell you those caps because your carb cannot be adjusted." I said that is absolutly not true, the carb is the same as an old one but the caps keep the adjustment locked down. And her answer "Well we can't sell you that part, it would be illegal."