Husky 346XP NE vs. Stihl MS 260

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RedNeckWrangler

Reaction score
Hi everyone I'm new here. Been reading this site for weeks. This is my first year cutting and burning wood. I've got an old Stihl 034 AV Super that was a hand me down. I've been cutting Oak and Maple. The largest ones about 16" in diameter. I'll cut about 5 cords per year. I'm looking to buy a new saw I think I've narrowed it down to two. The Husky 346XP New Edition or the Stihl MS 260. Which would you recommend? Thanks.

The 260 is a great saw I own two 026's and they both run flawlessly. Troll will school on the virtues owning a 346 shortly. Most people on here will try and get you to buy a MS361. Buy a saw from which every dealer treats you the best, and is willing to go the extra mile. Both saws will handle the job you look to accomplish very well. I use my 026's more than I use my other saws since most of my cutting it stuff 8-16 inches and with a 16" the 026 is very nicely balanced, but get gets awkward with a 20".

You will miss the power of the 034 Super, the newer saws have their features but you have one of the best saws ever made! MS260 is a proven machine the other is not, just my opinion!

Hi everyone I'm new here. Been reading this site for weeks. This is my first year cutting and burning wood. I've got an old Stihl 034 AV Super that was a hand me down. I've been cutting Oak and Maple. The largest ones about 16" in diameter. I'll cut about 5 cords per year. I'm looking to buy a new saw I think I've narrowed it down to two. The Husky 346XP New Edition or the Stihl MS 260. Which would you recommend? Thanks.

Is something wrong with your 034........or do you just have the want's for a new saw?