Firewood Saw help

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

vermontsaw

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hey all,
I'm new to this forum. Lots of respect for all the knowledge here. I'm not a pro logger...but I love to be working in the woods. I fell, limb, buck about 10 cords of hardwood firewood with my buddy every year. Been borrowing saws to do this work. I'm getting ready to take the plunge and buy. Grew up in Alaska running a Stihl...round here everyone runs Husky.

Not a knowledgeable mechanic yet, but want to learn. I'm looking at a saw in the 50-60 cc range. I know all the saws can be good if they're well taken care of. We've got a Stihl dealer 30 min away, 2 Jonsered dealers 15 min away, a handful of husky dealers, Echo, & Dolmar are close too. Do folks have any features I should really consider? I was looking at Magnesium crank case, compression release, 3/8 inch chain. Advice on specific models/ things to look for? Would love to hear advice on what to ask dealer.

Thinking of buying new so I know what I'm starting with...could be persuaded to go used. Then of course I'll need a back up saw, a parts saw, a project saw, does this sound familiar?

Thanks for your help & advice.
Justin

Around here at least the weapon of choice seems to be a Husky 357XP for almost any application it'll go to. Never used one myself actually, but looking on they seem to have plenty of power for their size and they're a lot lighter than my 266SE.

Sounds like you could use a Dolmar 5100s. No compression release though. Some models do have them though it seems. That's a screamer at 51cc's and an 18" bar and 11.2 lbs. Or you could jump up to the 6400, 7300, or the 7900. All numbers represent the cc's they are. Those last 3 saws weigh in at the same. I believe 13.6 lbs or in that ballpark.