346XP needs replaced....it's at 90 PSI, what saw is comparable today?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

zeek

ArboristSite Operative
AS Supporting Member
Reaction score
I likely can't fix my 346XP in a timely manner...low compression at 90, put a new ring and still 9, so I guess I need a P/C, not sure what to do yet. I have not kept up with the new saws so no clue what to buy to replace my 346XP. I am hoping that a new P/C will fix me up, but I just don't know. I'm just a farmer with a wood burner, but need a saw that works.
Thanks
Zeek

I likely can't fix my 346XP in a timely manner...low compression at 90, put a new ring and still 9, so I guess I need a P/C, not sure what to do yet. I have not kept up with the new saws so no clue what to buy to replace my 346XP. I am hoping that a new P/C will fix me up, but I just don't know. I'm just a farmer with a wood burner, but need a saw that works.
Thanks
Zeek
Are you using a compression gauge made for small engine use?

If the 346XP is still serviceable a new OEM cylinder kit is available for a reasonable price compared to going with a new saw. The 544142908 kit has decompression valve provision while the 544142907 kit does not. The -908 kit is available on Amazon, eBay, online retailers and possibly dealers for $130-$140 while the -907 kit cost around $10-$15 less. If your saw is does not have metal intake boot clamp you need to upgrade as the original plastic clamp will leak air and kill your engine.

Husqvarna Genuine Part 544142907 CYLINDER​

Genuine OEM Husqvarna 346XP Cylinder Kit 544142908​

Yes, I am and after the new rung the compression was still about the same. I ran the saw pretty hard for 11 years.