372XP advice

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jspell

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I farm for a living with my dad and we have tons of dead ash trees falling into our fields here in Ohio. I also have a small hobbyist sawmill and do some (pretty terrible) woodworking. I bought a new Husqvarna 372XP X-Torq from a local dealer about 2 years ago, my first pro saw. Had some minor annoying issues with it early (kill switch and choke lever both fell/broke off within the first couple weeks? top cover machine screws kept vibrating out). After maybe a year I thought it was starting a little hard and wouldn't hold an idle, so I took it in to the dealer. He gave it to one of his mechanics, who brought it back a few minutes later and told me it was good to go. Asked him what he did and he said he leaned it out a little.

Late last summer I did some cutting, put the saw down, came back a half hour later and it wouldn't start. Checked the obvious stuff, but I am no mechanic and it was still under warranty so I dropped it off at the dealer. Three weeks later told me the cylinder walls were badly pitted, had only 70 pounds compression, he was trying to get it warrantied. Last week he texted me that Husky wouldn't warranty it, he offered to "dispose of it" for me. I picked it up yesterday. He told me they determined it had been run without lubrication at some point. I realize there's no way I can prove otherwise, even though I was mixing high octane gas and Stihl HP Ultra oil for that "fancy new saw", as my dad called it, rather than gas from our farm tank and whatever oil is around like my dad has been doing with his old Farm Boss for a decade. The dealer explained "phase separation" to me and said maybe I did not shake the fuel can, which is generally sloshing around in the bed of my truck but I guess it's possible.