404 conversion to a Homelite Wiz

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sandman2234

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
I don't think I have ever seen 404/063 chain in person, mainly because I am a newbie to what I am considering, so please point out any issues that make this train of thought impossible or expensive!
I have a Wiz with a bow running 1/2"/.063 chain. I have another Super Wiz saw with a short bar (20ish") and would like to put a long bar on it, with 42" being my dream size. Finding that much 1/2" chain and a roller tip to fit isn't happening. So, I thought, maybe .404/063 chain on a new or lightly used bar would be a better way of making this come to reality.
The drive gear (7 tooth) probably isn't available in 404, so I thought I could buy one with clutch housing and cut the clutch housing off it, sandwich it between 2 washers, bore hole and install a keyway to match shaft key. If 404 gear is too narrow, I could buy 2 and match them together.
1) Does 404 chain cut similar to 1/2" chain, or maybe a little easier, because this much chain is going to put quite a strain on the ole saw?
2) I am thinking that I might run into issues with shaft size, since the 1/2 is keyed to shaft and 404 probably uses a caged bearing on the I.D.. A bronze or steel bushing might be needed to match the size, and welded/riveted to the 404 drive.
3) What determines the correct number of teeth, is that determined by Size of sproket, since chain driver spacing is constant?
With 3) in mind, and the 42" bar as big of a horsepower drain, will I need to step down a tooth, or is the slower gear drive enough to allow me to run this much chain? Probably have to go with what I can find, lol!