Am I sharpening right?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jose Hernandez

Reaction score
Hey there everyone I’m new to sharpening for the most part and only really been doing it for a couple weeks with someone giving me the right sized file and telling me the angle to sharpen at while out at work. Back home my dad had someone sharpen the chain on one of his saws with an electric sharpener but I don’t think the guy knew what he was doing cause it went dull pretty quick. I bought a Granberg jig cause I’d used one before and liked how accurately they sharpen and so I used it to try and get a good edge on the chain for him and get some more practice. Does this look right? I feel like there should be more of a “C” but less of a hook on the top. If this is the case, why might that be? Different file? Different angle?

25” Bar
3/8 pitch
Using a 5/32 round file at 35° with 0 tilt

Attached are one tooth before and after.
FDDD7830-7BBA-4269-83CE-7154D64D9A9C.jpeg 0EE94E44-3B4B-453D-9920-97216210AD7D.jpegA67FBD93-BB50-4922-862A-FB4687CF2E35.jpeg A79D38EA-A7B7-40B1-BFD5-31CAD00B8FB6.jpeg 378CAB9A-5CB2-4259-8F25-0BD5600DA381.jpeg

There are a few issues going on there, but that's OK, that's why your here. In suggest you look at a new cutter either off new chain you have or from a pic online. You need too know what the 'end result' should look like. As it sits, that chain is not sharp & has a bad side plate. You may benefit from some kind of jig too assist holding the file at the right height.

Looks like the wrong file size - for 3/8" chain it should be 7/32" file. The second to last photo, the cutter is not sharp yet - the front edge is curved over.