Are Carbide Chains Worth the Extra Cost?

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JimmyT

Ole Wood Chopper
AS Supporting Member
Reaction score
I have been running chainsaws for 60 years and have never run a carbide chain. Fire Departments use carbide chains on their rescue chainsaws. Lets use a Stihl 33RD3 20 inch .375 pitch 50 gauge 72 drive links for an example. Here's the question will the carbide chain actually outlast four regular chains if so are they worth $75 and up. The other question is can you hand sharpen them because at some point they will need sharpening? If you have run one just jump in with your pros and cons.

Never used one myself, but they say they are slow cutting wood. And require a diamond file or a diamond wheel to sharpen them. If you hit a stone or steel you’re likely to break the carbide tips off
Your right, you just jogged my memory. A while back I read an article that said carbide is hard but brittle. I wonder if the cutting edge is not as sharp. I have put chains on that were extremely sharp and would cut your finger tips if you weren't careful.

Going to extremes I don't think carbide will take a sharp an edge as high quality Steel.
I don't think chainsaw chain gets to that point though. I'm talking about things like hand planes and chisels.
I know you could cut your fingers on sharp carbide router bits

It's supposed to be better if the wood is really dirty.
Not so much on clean wood.
I've never ran one so I can't say from experience.

So I guess it is just a speciality chain for cutting through nails on a rooftop and not well suited for firewood cutting.
Above quote would be for the carbide chain used by fire departments not the Stihl 33RD3 mentioned in post 1

I only got one 55dl 63piccoduro.

There are certain soil types you can just essentially cut a box out a root infested box. Those soils would be rather rare around here.