Beginner book recommendations

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Stonewoodiron

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
I’m looking to purchase a book or books (actual paper books made from trees!) that detail and illustrate: felling techniques, climbing techniques, limbing, pruning, and tree care. I’m a professional plumber but have recently fallen in love with trees, saws, milling, and woodworking. Ideally I’d work for a top notch tree service but I still like my job and I support my family. I appreciate your input and time.

"To Fell a Tree" by Jeff Jepson is an excellent intro, just what you're looking for. Written by a pro tree worker. He also has another book on climbing, also very good.

The "bible" on tree work is G.F. Beranek's "The Fundamentals of General Tree Work." It's much more in depth and many more pages than Jepson's book. Study both, practice for years, and you'll be on your way.

What he said.
Jepson’s Tree Climber’s Companion, and To Fell a Tree. Then Fundamentals of General Tree Work.
It’s hard to find a copy of The Fundamentals, and a good condition one is usually a few hundred dollars now. There’s a digital copy that’s pretty affordable from Patrick at Educated Climber.
https://www.educatedclimber.com/beranek-fundamentals/
Also I suggest “ Arborist Equipment “ by Don Blair. It’s very informative and very entertaining, Mr Blair is a great writer, lots of humor in that book.

Looked up the Arborist Equipment book. Won’t be purchasing too soon……..thought it was funny-check the picture

Attachments

• 496551AE-8222-4322-A786-6D0DACE3DB22.png
    496551AE-8222-4322-A786-6D0DACE3DB22.png
    545.2 KB · Views: 14
Whoa.
I got my copy last year from EBay for I think around 60$ in very good condition.

Whoa.
I got my copy last year from EBay for I think around 60$ in very good condition.