Best Speedline rope

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jaystihl

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
Hey guys I have been climbing for the last 15 years but have never used a speedline kit. I have done a lot of searches but many of the threads are old so thought I would post here to see what you guys recommend for a good speed line rope. I have a 5/8 bull rope and a 1/2 Samson stable braid bull rope but from what I understand they have too much stretch and need more of a static rope like Kernmantle. I already have all the biners and slings. I am in the southeast so speed lining would only be a every once in a while thing so don't necessarily want to spend a ton of money on rope but want something that is going to hold up. I only climb ddrt so was also wondering if a static rope for speed lining would also be good for climbing ddrt? I would imagine it may be unsafe to climb with a rope that you use for speed lining but figured I would ask what your opinions are on that. I currently climb on 16 strand 1/2 inch safety blue and was thinking if I could kill two birds with one stone and climb with the speed line as well but that may be a bad idea. Looking forward to your opinions, thanks for any help

use your stablebraid for now, I bought mine to speedline with
if that doesnt work for you then I believe HTP is a static line, or you can order a static climb line (xstatic, drenaline, KMiii max)

use your stablebraid for now, I bought mine to speedline with
if that doesnt work for you then I believe HTP is a static line, or you can order a static climb line (xstatic, drenaline, KMiii max)
Thanks Zin, do you find that your stable braid sags to much when speed lining? I was actually just looking at the sterling htp , man it's expensive!