Bought dead bucket truck, need done info from you guys

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kgw51gmc

94 c3500 hd boat anchor
Reaction score
94 Chevy c3500, Frank doerr truck equipment manufactured the utility bed and the boom and bucket I think.Pittsburgh based company. Any, it's old but looks good. I will post a few pics.
Background on me recently, I rebuilt all seven cylinders on my backhoe, and the entire valve bank/spools, have rebuilt three engines, one manual transmission, did the injector pump in my diesel Chevy dump truck, installed dump kits, and have had ten years experience running genie man lifts up to 100' for my stack testing career. All that being said, I am well aware of the dangers, etc. Safety is my goal for this farm use only rig.I want to focus on what I don't know.

I have never used a bucket Truck before, and this one is dead until I put an injector pump into it. So I can't try the bucket yet. I hooked a side shaft briggs up to the hydraulic pump today to run the boom independent off the trucks engine but it just stalled it out.
Pump is driven of crankshaft pulley on front of the Detroit diesel. And there is a twelve volt starter motor hooked up to a pump under the pedestal/tower in the need so, I'm guessing, you can let yourself down if truck runs out of fuel? It sure as heck won't lift it up! With good batteries too.
There are no model serial numbers on this. It got the normal white wash paint job ten years ago when the"other guy"bought it. The vehicle was sold new from Frank Doerr truck equipment, and they are out of business. I have no info on how it works, aside from the dummy stickers.

I would like to figure out if it has holding valves, and be able to test them. I wood like to know what the knob is for at the bucket that's on it's own, like a diverter valve maybe do you don't lean over it while working.