Brand new dull chain, or something more sinister...

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jesushadachainsaw

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Greetings to all, and to all may you slab a yule log this christmas.

I have been milling for well, about 2 months now. I have an 066 and a cs590. I've been using my 066 with logs greater than 12 inches and the echo 590 with logs 12in or less. Lately I've been cutting 1x10s with the echo, and it's been glorious. Yesterday I started filing my 20" 590 chain into a ripping chain and didnt finish it in time for today's rips. Instead of staying up late I figured I'd stop by home depot in the morning to pick up a new chain. I got to the land and laid out a nice straight log, put on the brand new echo chain, locked on to my trusty granberg mill, then started the saw. It felt like the chain was on backwards because it was cutting so slow! Almost no sawdust and the chain was spinning great but wasn't cutting into the wood. I checked it out longer than I should of thinking man am I crazy, i know it's on right. I took the saw out of the mill and headed over to a log and went to cut a round, and it was a very slow cut. I had to put some effort into it to finally slice off a 10in round. Is it possible I got a dud chain?! My previous chain milled 12in logs effortlessly. I thought maybe the depth gauges were too high, but I don't think so.
One thing that I can think of is when I went to top off the gas before i accidently put bar oil in, but I dumped it out of course. I also rinsed it before I put more gas in.
I'm going to exchange the chain tomorrow, but who knows!
Also, the saw was getting pretty hot, I assume it's from the rpms...chain not cutting anything and just spinning like crazy.
Anyways, thanks in advance. Novice, long time voyeur, first time participant.