Brush Bandit 250xp engine type

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

chhonos

ArboristSite Lurker
Reaction score
Hey guys,
I am a university student and I run an arborist business during the summer. Last summer I rented a Vermeer BC700, which was a bit small for my needs. I have decided to buy a chipper for this coming summer. After doing some research, I realize that there are several options in the 12" range. One model that has caught my attention is the Bandit 250xp. Now I have found (what I think) are a few great deals! Keep in mind, my original budget for this chipper is about $5000-7000. These are the two chippers that I am currently most interested in:
1997 Bandit 250xp with Ford 4.9 gas engine (6 cylinder). I dont know the horsepower...It has 4700 hours on it. Price: $3500 (after negotiation)

1999 Bandit 250xp with Perkins diesel engine (owner says 98hp). 4900 hours on machine. Price: $5000 (after negotiation)

So I don't know much about the two different engines....
Basically what I am wondering is what you guys would suggest? Am I making a good decision buying either of these two units? I figure at the price....I have some room to repair them if something goes wrong. Id appreciate your input if you have any info that could help!

Comparing hp doesn't matter as much as torque. You'll get way more foot pounds on a diesel chipper. Go diesel. Unless you're in Cali.

Comparing hp doesn't matter as much as torque. You'll get way more foot pounds on a diesel chipper. Go diesel. Unless you're in Cali.