Carbide Chain

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bubster

ArboristSite Guru
AS Supporting Member
Reaction score
I recently bought a box,and I mean big box of old used saw chains.Some were wore down to 20% cutter,some look like they were used once and hit the ground.There were also 7 carbide chains included.I know enough about carbide chains that I cant sharpen them with a file,but I was wondering if the small hand held grinders like the Stihl would do the job?I figure 7 carbide chains would last me for several years and a small grinder would pay for itself in no time.Thanks for any help

Correct, don’t waste your files on those carbides. IF they’re damaged, you need a diamond tool to sharpen carbide. The Cbn wheels might do as well, but I have no experience with them.

No to CBN wheel ! All you will do is ruin a perfectly good CBN wheel.

A good diamond wheel will do a fine job on them.
On the other hand, you will need a decent saw sharpener (motorized grinder) to set the angles correctly.
1657776404347.png

If all you are doing is hand filing, you might consider calling your local fire department and then asking them where they sharpen their carbide chains. They might know someone that will do it for you.

Our fire dept. throws them away rather than sharpening, but I cannot get them to give me the discarded chains.

I have never tried those on a carbide chain, but I have tried them long ago on a normal chain. The little grinder bits have the right size, and they do just as well on sharpening as hand filing. But not appreciably faster, nor any better.
I am certain that we would discover that those tiny carbide-sharpening bits will wear out very quickly and not be very effective.

You need a decent sized grinder and a good diamond (not CBN) wheel to sharpen carbide chains. Carbide often chips, so you may need more than a ‘touch up’ of some edges.