Cleaning carb of 15 yr old Craftsman chainsaw with ten hours runtime

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

preventec47

ArboristSite Operative
Reaction score
About fifteen years ago I did some tree clearing for my parents when they bought a house and my dad bought a chainsaw from SEARS with 18 inch blade. It cut very well for a few days and I ran it dry and oiled the cylinder for storage but a few years
later my dad used it for a few hours and put it away with gas in the tank and it has set for about ten years. I have lots of experience with cars, lawnmowers, motorcycles carbs etc but never disassembled a chain saw. Is it worth my time to pull the carb and soak
or clean out fuel lines and jets or other wise try to clean the inside using traditional techniques ? IE is the probability of success
pretty high or should I just bite the bullet and go buy another cheaper consumer brand chainsaw ? I have two other running 14 inch
blade chainsaws and the bigger 18 incher could often times come in handy. I did test for spark and the ignition works well.

They're not that hard to disassemble and clean with some basic tools and carb cleaner. The fuel lines are probably toast so pay attention to how they are connected to carb. Parts are mostly available still online, I think the saw is a Poulan, but don't quote me. Lots video on y-tube to help guide you.

I recently rehabbed an old 40cc craftsman I inherited from my uncle..it was brand new never run before..All of the fuel lines were shot, so I replaced them add gas and it fired up..Your carb is probably fine, the fuel line maybe not.

I got a cheap kit off Amazon for under $10..

Recently rehabbed a few Craftsman/poulan saws. Carb rebuilds are cheap and very easy. Strip, then blow out all passages. Reassemble with kit. Get an engine gasket kit too, which is also cheap. And primer bulb if it has one.