Climbing spurs

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tree Feller

J &J Tree Service
Reaction score
So I’m in the market for new spurs. I’m still rather new to climbing. I use a set of Kline pole spurs with T pads now. I have narrowed my search to either buckingham steel with the cast aluminum pads,
Climb right aluminum with ultralight pads or
The gecko steel climbers??

I've owned Kline pole spurs and gecko steel and aluminum. I've always had this weird issue with my heels slipping off the bottom of the spur with the geckos- and if I hadn't had the klines stolen, I'd probably have preferred them over the Geckos. I now own elderid talons and love them. I also have the extra foot ascender with it which makes it nice for doing SRT removals.

Kleins are good gaffs. If I were you, rather than get new gaffs I'd remove the pole spikes from the Kleins and replace them with the longer tree spikes. Then add aluminum "caddy pads." You won't find a better outfit than that.
The pole gaffs are not removeable on my set?

Out of the three you listed I'd choose the bucks and caddy pads.
Geckos are light but that's really all they have going for them to me.
Climb right are pretty good but I don't like the ultralight pad on them.

I would also recommend the Buckingham alloys or bashlin's. An offset stirrup is a big change in comfort. Not sure if bashlin's do this but the bucks also angle the gaff a few degrees into the tree and allow you to stand a bit straighter. They also have a hybrid gaff that is in between a pole and tree gaff in length. Perfect for us east coast guys.

I have climb right pads on steel buckingham straight gaffs. I like them, but I have replaced them with a set of the steel geckos. Why did I replace them? Because the geckos were cheap and I wanted to try them.
I like the geckos personally, they’re comfortable and light.