Common Stihl 090G Misbeliefs

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I would like to address a couple of common misbeliefs about the Stihl 090G. For a long time I’ve heard folks talk about chain drive 090Gs and an 090GS or 090G Super. I do not believe either of those to be true. I am not an expert on the matter, but I’ve done a good deal of research and inspection in order to come to my conclusions. If anyone has documentation or proof that what I post here is inaccurate, please let me know. My focus is not to be right – it’s to learn and share.

First, every 090G that left the factory was fitted with a 58mm top end. Never a 66mm. There was no such thing as an 090GS or 090G Super. Yes, there were Contra G saws with 58mm top ends and Contra GS saws with 66mm top ends, but never an 090GS. It is very common to find a 66mm top end on an 090G, but that was swapped out after leaving the factory. Many users did that, and even today many collectors and enthusiasts do the same. I've been told the distributor in the Pacific Northwest would install 66mm top ends back in the day. Dealers would even swap top ends on new and used saws upon customer request. There is zero documentation I've seen to support the theory that there were factory 66mm 090G saws. I’ve personally had a couple of these chainsaws with 66mm top ends and an “S” stamped at the end of the serial number – that was just added after the top end swap, and I theorize some dealers did that when they upgraded the saw. In both cases of mine, the “S” was a very slightly larger font than the serial digits which only confirms for me that the ‘S’ was not original. I also have had an 090G with the 66mm top end and a little “SUPER” sticker on it. That sticker was not factory – I’m sure it was just another dealer (or owner) addition.