Compensation for climbers

Arborist Forum

Help Support Arborist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

NLTS12000

Reaction score
I have been running a 4-5 man operation for about 20 years, and have experienced a fair amount of turnover with climbing technicians. Until recently, I could step in and do the work myself if someone left abruptly; but my ability is diminished with age, and I really have to employ people that can do things I cannot. The business can't absorb $30.00\hour employees,and I am caught between passing on jobs, or paying help that seems to high to allow profitability. Recently I experimented with a sliding scale ; I paid an individual $19 for ground work, 21 for bucket, and 23 for climbing. Eventually he let it be known he wanted to get $23 for all his time. I have limited benefits (3 paid holidays/year), and my crew is normally laid off 3 winter months. I'm interested in ideas to make a better workplace-and remain profitable. WE bid jobs based on a minimum of $80\per man hour, which makes us pretty competitive in Northern Wisconsin.

If you apply the rule of 3rds you have room to pay your climber more with your hourly rate. I think it is worth paying a good reliable lead employee/climber well as they set the stage for all the other employees and you are charging the same rate for employees 2-5 but pay them less. I know several climbers getting $30-$35 an hour on the books. A friend gets $27.50/hr guaranteed 40 hours year round.

Do you think you would start loosing work if you increased your day rate from $3200 to $3350 to cover the cost of one $30 employee at your same profitability rate? A company near me that runs a 5 man crew is $3600 a day.